Dalton in Furness
|
|
|
|
DALTON-IN-FURNESS, a small town, a parish, and a sub-district in Ulverstone district, Lancashire. The town stands on the Furness railway, 1½ mile N of Furness abbey, and 5 SW of Ulverstone; is an ancient place, long the capital of Lower-Furness; consists of one street, spacious, antique, picturesque, and improved; and has a head post office, designated Dalton-in-Furness, Lancashire, a railway station, a chief inn, an ancient tower, a parish church, a Wesleyan chapel, and a free school. The tower crowns a rocky eminence on the west; and belonged to a castle, built in the time of Edward III., by the abbots of Furness, to guard the northern approach to the abbey. The church stands near the tower, and was rebuilt in 1825. Markets are held on Saturdays; and fairs on 6 June and 23 Oct. A hunt, called the "Dalton Rout" in the "Tatler, " was established here in 1703; but has gone into disuse. Romney, the painter, was a native. Pop., 2,812. Houses, 538. The parish includes also the townships of Hawcoat and Yarlside, the chapelries of Ireleth and Rampside, the hamlet of Biggar, and the islands of Peel, Barrow, Roa, and Walney. Acres, 16,364. Real property, £64,492; of which £4,025 are in mines, and £33,627 in railways. Pop., 9,152. Houses, 1,565. The property is much subdivided. Iron ore and limestone are plentiful: and mining and iron working are extensively carried on. Remains of a fortified-beacon occur on the eminence of High Haume. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, £159.* Patron, the Duchy of Lancaster. The chapelries of Ireleth, Rampside, Barrow, and Walney are separate benefices. The sub-district contains three parishes. Acres, 25,158. Pop., 11,243.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.Bibliography
The following books contain useful information about the history of Dalton in Furness and the surrounding area.- J E Waltons A History of Dalton-in-Furness, published by Phillimore in 1984.
Cemeteries
- Cemetery Hill, Cemetery
- St Mary, Church Street, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Dalton in Furness.Church History
Church Records
- Broughton Road, BibleChristian
- Ulverston Rd, Church of Christ
- Christian Meeting House, Pit Lane, Church of Christ, Lindal in Furness
- St Margaret, Ulverston Rd, Church of England
- St Mary, Church Street, Church of England
- St Peter, Church Close, Church of England, Lindal in Furness
- St Barnabas, Newton Cross Rd, Church of England, Newton in Furness
- Market St, Congregational
- St Simon the Zealot, Cemetery Hill, Greek Orthodox
- Broughton Road, Particular Baptist
- Cleator St, Primitive Methodist
- Ulverston Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Our Lady of the Rosary and St Margaret of Scotland, Ulverston Rd, Roman Catholic
- Our Lady of the Rosary and St Margaret of Scotland, Ulverston Rd, Roman Catholic
- Holy Family, Ostley Bank, Roman Catholic, Newbarns
- St Pius X, Schneider Rd, Roman Catholic, Ormsgill
- Cobden St, SalvationArmy
- Ulverston Rd, Seventh-Day Adventist
- Beckside Rd, Welsh Calvinist
- Wellington St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Ulverston Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Lindal in Furness
- Tarn Flat, Wesleyan Methodist, Marton
- Newton Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Newton in Furness
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Dalton-in-Furness area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

