GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Darcy Lever

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Probate Records
DARCY-LEVER, a township in Bolton-le-Moors parish, Lancashire; on the Bolton and Bury railway, 1 mile E of Bolton. It has a station on the railway. Acres, 540. Real property, £9,025; of which £4,400 are in mines. Pop., 2,071. Houses, 404. Coal is worked.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Bolton library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Darcy Lever.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Darcy Lever area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Darcy Lever area is Bolton.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Darcy Lever to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Darcy Lever was a township in the parish of Bolton.

History

A description of Darcy Lever in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Darcy Lever and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Darcy Lever was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03Sep2008 11:34:04 BST - Phil Stringer]