Deane
|
|
|
|
DEANE, a village and a parish in Bolton district, Lancashire. The village stands near the Bolton and Leigh railway, 1¾ mile SW of Bolton; and has a post office under Bolton. The parish contains also the town ships of Kersley, Farmworth, Little Hulton, Middle Hulton, Over Hulton, Rumworth, Westhoughton, Heaton, Halliwell, and Horwich. Acres, 19,340. Real property, £157,633; of which £46,743 are in mines. and £642 in quarries. Pop., 35,746. Houses, 7,077. The property, in many parts, is much subdivided. Large part of the population is employed in cotton factories, bleachfields, and coal-mines. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £350 * Patron, the Lord Chancellor. The church is good, and was recently enlarged. The vicarages of Halliwell-St. Peter, Halliwell-St Paul, Westhoughton, Wingates, and Horwich, and the p. curacy of Peel or Little Hulton, are separate benefices. Marsh, the martyr, was a native and vicar.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Bibliography
The following books contain useful information about the history of Deane and the surrounding area.Cemeteries
- St Mary the Virgin, Junction Road, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Deane.Church History
Church Records
- St Mary the Virgin, Junction Road, Church of England
- Mount St. Joseph Convent Chapel, Willows Lane, Roman Catholic
- St Ethelbert, Hawthorne Street, Roman Catholic
- Wigan Road, United Reformed
- Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Deane area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Deane area is Bolton.Description and Travel
Some pictures of Deane.You can see pictures of Deane which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Deane to another place.Historical Geography
DEANE: This name was given in 1894 to part of the former Rumworth township or parish. Deane was also the name of the ancient ecclesiastical parish containing the township. In 1898 Deane civil parish became part of Bolton Borough.In 1835 the parish of Deane contained the townships of Horwich, Halliwell, Heaton, Rumworth, Westhoughton, Over Hulton, Middle Hulton, Little Hulton, Farnworth and Kearsley.
History
A description of Deane in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Deane and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD693081 (Lat/Lon: 53.568597, -2.465043), Deane which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Deane was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

