Dendron

Select map to view larger area
DENDRON, a chapelry in Aldingham parish, Lancashire; near the Furness railway, 2 miles SE of Dalton-in-Furness. Post town, Dalton-in-Furness, Lancashire. Statistics, with the parish. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 80. Patron, the Rector of Aldingham. The church is good.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Dendron.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Dendron area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Dendron area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Dendron which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Dendron to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Dendron was a chapelry in the parish of Aldingham.

Maps

View maps of Dendron and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD243708 (Lat/Lon: 54.127464, -3.159905), Dendron which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Dendron was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.