Didsbury
|
|
|
|
DIDSBURY, a township-chapelry and a sub-district, in Chorlton district, Lancashire. The chapelry is in Manchester parish; was constituted in 1838; lies on the river Mersey, at the boundary with Cheshire, 3 miles W of Stockport; and has a post office under Manchester. Acres, 1,527. Real property, £13,116. Pop., 1,829. Houses, 364. The property is much subdivided. Didsbury House is a chief residence. There are large cotton factories. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £180.* Patrons, Trustees. The church is old but very good; and has a tower. There is a Wesleyan Methodist College. There are also schools with £51 from endowment; and other charities with £17. The sub-district contains also three other townships. Acres, 5,948. Pop., 5,904. Houses, 978.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.Cemeteries
- St James, Stenner Lane, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Didsbury.Church History
Church Records
- Beaver Park, Beaver Rd, Baptist
- Burton Road, Christadelphian, West Didsbury
- School Lane, Christian Fellowship
- Ivy Cottage, Barlow Moor Road, Church Centre
- Second, Clothorn Rd, Church of Christ, Scientist
- Emmanuel, Barlow Moor Road, Church of England
- St James, Stenner Lane, Church of England
- Christ Church, Barlow Moor Road, Church of England, West Didsbury
- Sha'are Sedek Synagogue (and Talmud Torah), Old Lansdowne Rd, Jewish, West Didsbury
- The Sephardi Congregation of South Manchester, Old Lansdowne Rd, Jewish, West Didsbury
- Parrswood Rd, Methodist, East Didsbury
- St Aidan, Palatine Rd, Presbyterian, West Didsbury
- Albert Street, Primitive Methodist
- St Catherine of Siena, School Lane, Roman Catholic
- St Mary, Palatine Rd, Unknown, West Didsbury
- Eglwys Bresbyteraidd, Oaker Avenue, Welsh Presbyterian, West Didsbury
- St Paul, Wilmslow Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Chapel St, Wesleyan Methodist, East Didsbury
- Albert Park, Barlow Moor Road, Wesleyan Methodist, West Didsbury
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Didsbury area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Didsbury area is Manchester.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Didsbury which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Didsbury to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Didsbury was a township in the parish of Manchester.History
A description of Didsbury in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Didsbury and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ847912 (Lat/Lon: 53.417369, -2.231679), Didsbury which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Didsbury was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

