Duxbury

Select map to view larger area
DUXBURY, a township in Standish parish, Lancashire; near the Wigan and Preston railway, and the canal, 2 miles S of Chorley. Acres, 1,011. Real property, 3, 594; of which 1,064 are in mines. Pop., 341. Houses, 64. Duxbury Hall is the seat of the Standish family.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Duxbury.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Duxbury area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Duxbury area is Chorley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Duxbury which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Duxbury to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Duxbury was a township in the parish of Standish.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Duxbury and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD587151 (Lat/Lon: 53.630783, -2.626022), Duxbury which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Duxbury was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.