GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Eccleshill

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Select map to view larger area
Civil Registration
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
Maps
Probate Records
ECCLESHILL, a township in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; 3¼ miles SSE of Blackburn. Acres, 792. Real property, £1,667; of which £213 are in mines. Pop., 543. Houses, 106.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Darwen library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Eccleshill.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Eccleshill area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Eccleshill area is Blackburn.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Eccleshill to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Eccleshill was a township in the parish of Blackburn.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Eccleshill and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Eccleshill was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.0! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Saturday, 20-May-2006 16:25:29 BST - Phil Stringer]