Eccleston
|
|
|
|
ECCLESTON, a township and two chapelries in Prescot parish, Lancashire. The township lies nominally \u00be of a mile NNE of Prescot; but it includes parts of both Prescot and St. Helens towns; and it shares the railway and postal facilities of both. Acres, 3,387. Real property, £36,478; of which £4,206 are in mines, £264 in quarries, and £466 in gas-works. Pop. in 1851, 8,509; in 1861, 11,640. Houses, 2,045. Pop. of the part in Prescot town, 930; of the part in St. Helens town, 8,012. Crown-glass and earthenware have been extensively manufactured. The chapelries are Christ Church and St. Thomas; the former connected with Prescot town, the latter with St. Helens. Christ Church was constituted in 1838; St. Thomas, in 1839. Pop. of the former, 2,328; of the latter, 8,206. The living of C. is a p. curacy, that of St. T. a vicarage, in the dio. of Chester. Value of C., £110; * of St. T., £300.* Patron of the former, S. Taylor, Esq; of the latter, Trustees. One of the churches is a modern edifice, with a spire. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Roman Catholics, and a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
- Christ Church, Church Lane, Church of England
- St Thomas, Westfield Street, Church of England
- Our Lady Help of Christians, Portico Lane, Roman Catholic, Portico
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Eccleston.Church History
Church Records
- Christ Church, Church Lane, Church of England
- St Luke, Knowsley Road, Church of England
- St Paul, Napier Street, Church of England
- St Thomas, Westfield Street, Church of England
- St James, St Helens Road, Church of England, Eccleston Park
- St John the Evangelist, Crossley Road, Church of England, Ravenhead
- Burrows Lane, Methodist, Eccleston Park
- Our Lady Help of Christians, Portico Lane, Roman Catholic, Portico
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Eccleston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Eccleston area is Knowsley.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Eccleston which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Eccleston to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Eccleston was a township in the parish of Prescot.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Eccleston and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ484957 (Lat/Lon: 53.455506, -2.778559), Eccleston which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Eccleston was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

