Edenfield

Select map to view larger area
EDENFIELD, a chapelry and a sub-district in Haslingden district, Lancashire. The chapelry is in Bury parish; lies on the Rosendale railway, 2½ miles S of Haslingden; and has a post office under Bury-Lane. Pop., 3,074. The property is subdivided. Many of the inhabitants are employed in cotton mills. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 163.* Patron, the Rector of Bury. The church is tolerable; and there are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists. The sub-district contains the townships of Musbury and Tottington-Higher-End. Acres, 4,856. Pop., 4,723. Houses, 904.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Bury library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Edenfield.

Church History

Edenfield parish church.

Church Records

Marriage indexes for the parish church 1837-1907, and for baptisms 1813-1927 have been published by the LFH&HS.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Edenfield area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.

Description and Travel

Information about Edenfield provided by the Edenfield Genealogical Society (USA).

You can see pictures in an area centred on OS grid reference SD800190 (Lat/Lon: 53.666867, -2.302731) which are provided by:

Directories

David Greenhalgh has extracted entries from Pigot's 1828 Directory.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Edenfield to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Edenfield was located in the township of Tottington Higher End in the parish of Bury.

History

A description of Edenfield in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Edenfield and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD800190 (Lat/Lon: 53.666867, -2.302731), which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Edenfield was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.