Edge Hill

Select map to view larger area
EDGE-HILL, a suburb and five chapelries in West Derby district, Lancashire. The suburb adjoins the E side of Liverpool; lies on the Liverpool and Manchester railway; includes a pleasant eminence near the road to Prescot; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Liverpool. The chapelries are St. Mary, St. Stephen, St. Jude, St. Timothy, and St. Catherine: the two last constituted in 1862 and 1863. The first four are p. curacies, and St.is a vicarage, in the diocese of Chester. Value of St. M. and St. J., each 300; of St. S., 300;* of St. T., 200; of St. C., 230. Patron of St. M., J. Stewart, Esq.; of St. S., St. J., and St. C., Trustees; of St. T., not reported. The five churches are modern; the newest built in 1863.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Liverpool library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Edge Hill.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Edge Hill area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Edge Hill area is Liverpool

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Edge Hill which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Edge Hill to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Edge Hill was a chapelry in the township of West Derby, in the parish of Walton on the Hill.

Maps

View maps of Edge Hill and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ366899 (Lat/Lon: 53.402089, -2.955071), Edge Hill which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Edge Hill was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.