Egton cum Newland

Select map to view larger area
EGTON-WITH-NEWLAND, a township-chapelry in Ulverston parish, Lancashire; on the estuary of the Leven, and on the Ulverston and Lancaster railway, 1½ mile SW by S of Cark and Cartmel r. station, and 3 N of Ulverston. Post town, Cark, under Newton-in-Cartmel. Acres, 3,390. Real property, 5,502; of which 66 are in ironworks. Pop., 1,231. Houses, 236. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 161. Patron, J. P. Machell, Esq. The church is modern.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Egton cum Newland.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Egton cum Newland area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Egton cum Newland area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Egton cum Newland which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Egton cum Newland to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Egton cum Newland was a chapelry and a township in the parish of Ulverston.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Egton cum Newland and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD298820 (Lat/Lon: 54.228889, -3.078373), Egton cum Newland which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Egton cum Newland was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.