Ellel

Select map to view larger area
ELLEL, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Lancaster district, Lancashire. The township is in Cockerham parish; lies adjacent to the Lancaster canal, and the Lancaster and Preston railway, near Galgate station, 4 miles S by E of Lancaster; and is cut into two divisions, north and south. Post town, Galgate, under Lancaster. Real property of the N div., 5,243; of the S div., 3,895, of which 10 are in quarries. Pop. of the whole, in 1851, 1,484; in 1861, 1,968. Houses, 369. The increase of population arose from the erection of a silk factory, and the re-opening of a cotton factory. Ellel Grange and Ellel Hall are chief residences. The chapelry is less extensive than the township, and was constituted in 1858. Pop., 1,877. Houses, 351. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 150.* Patron, the Vicar of Cockerham. The church is good; and there are three dissenting chapels and two public schools. The sub-district contains also three other townships and an extra-parochial tract. Acres, 28,888. Pop., 4,020. Houses, 715.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ellel.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ellel area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ellel area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ellel which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ellel to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Ellel was a township in the parish of Cockerham.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Ellel and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD485558 (Lat/Lon: 53.995659, -2.787076), Ellel which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ellel was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.