Ellenbrook

Select map to view larger area
ELLENBROOK, a chapelry, with a r. station, in Eccles parish, Lancashire; on the Manchester and Wigan railway, 2½ miles E of Tyldesley. The living is a p. curacy. Value, 137. Patron, the Earl of Ellesmere. The church is in the Norman style.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ellenbrook.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ellenbrook area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ellenbrook area is Salford.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ellenbrook which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ellenbrook to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Ellenbrook was a chapelry in the township of Worsley was a in the parish of Eccles.

History

A description of Ellenbrook in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Ellenbrook and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD727017 (Lat/Lon: 53.511260, -2.413144), Ellenbrook which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ellenbrook was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.