Elton

Select map to view larger area
ELTON, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Bury district, Lancashire. The township is in Bury parish; lies adjacent to the Bury and Bolton and Bury and Haslingden railways, 1¾ mile WSW of Bury; and contains Starling and Summerseat. Post town, Bury, Lancashire. Acres, 2,521. Real property, 36,105; of which 1,680 are in mines, 50 in quarries, and 1,702 in gas-works. Pop., 8,172. Houses, 1,494. The cotton, the paper, and the iron trades are carried on; and an increase of population in the decade ending in 1861 arose from the prosperity of these trades, and from the advantages of railway and canal communication. The chapelry is less extensive than the township, and was constituted in 1843. Pop., 7,716. Houses, 1,394. The living is a vicarage in the dio. of Manchester. Value, 300.* Patron, the Rector of Bury. The church is an edifice in the Norman style. The sub-district excludes the part of the township not in the chapelry, and includes part of another Bury township, and parts of two other parishes. Acres, 3,817. Pop., 9,584. Houses, 1,745.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Bury library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Elton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Elton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Elton area is Bury.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Elton which are provided by:

Directories

David Greenhalgh has extracted entries from Pigot's 1828 Directory.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Elton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Elton was a township in the parish of Bury.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

A description of Elton in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Elton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD792109 (Lat/Lon: 53.594252, -2.315745), Elton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Elton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.