Entwistle

Select map to view larger area
ENTWISTLE, a township in Bolton-le-Moors parish, Lancashire; on the Bolton and Blackburn railway, 6½ miles N of Bolton. It has a station on the railway. Acres, 1,450. Real property, 2,429; of which 349 are in mines, and 200 in quarries. Pop., 422. Houses, 82.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Darwen library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Entwistle.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Entwistle area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Entwistle area is Bolton.

Description and Travel

Genealogy

The Entwistle Family History Association.

You can see pictures of Entwistle which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Entwistle to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Entwistle was a township in the parish of Bolton.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

A description of Entwistle in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Entwistle and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD727176 (Lat/Lon: 53.654173, -2.414540), Entwistle which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Entwistle was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.