Euxton
|
|
|
|
EUXTON, a chapelry in Leland parish, Lancashire; on the Preston and Wigan and Preston and Bolton railways, near the river Yarrow, 2 miles NW by W of Chorley. It has stations on the railway, and a post office under Chorley. Acres, 2,924. Real property, £6,491. Pop., 1,491. Houses, 283. The property is much sub-divided. Euxton Hall is a chief residence. A decrease of population occurred, prior to 1861, from the burning of a cotton mill. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £200.* Patrons, the Heirs of J. Armetriding. The church is ancient, in tolerable condition; and has a Norman font. There are a Wesleyan chapel, a Roman Catholic chapel, an endowed school with £28, and other charities with £15.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Chorley library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Euxton.Church History
Church Records
- ., Wigan Road, Church of England
- St Mary, Wigan Road, Roman Catholic
- Wigan Road, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Euxton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
The registers of the parish church, have been published by the Lancashire Parish Register Society as follows.
- Volume 128 - Bap 1734-1781.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Euxton area is Chorley.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Euxton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Euxton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Euxton was a township in the parish of Leyland.Maps
View maps of Euxton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD557186 (Lat/Lon: 53.661994, -2.671885), Euxton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Euxton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

