Everton
|
|
|
|
EVERTON, a suburban township, seven chapelries, and a sub-district, in Walton-on-the-Hill parish, West Derby district, Lancashire. The township is suburban to Liverpool; lies within Liverpool borough, on the NE side of the town, contiguous to Kirkdale; and has a post office under Liverpool, 1½ mile distant from the Liverpool head-office. It had a village older than Liverpool, situated on an eminence, commanding an extensive view over the Mersey to Wales and the Irish channel; but it takes its present character from the growth and prosperity of Liverpool; has long been a favourite residence of many merchants; and comprises numerous airy streets and numerous elegant villas. It contains the cottage occupied by Prince Rupert in 1644; a mansion, called St. Domingo, built with money accruing from a French prize ship; the workhouse of West Derby district; the Liverpol hospital for infections diseases, about to be rebuilt in 1869; the Liverpool collegiate institution; several national or other public schools; a public cemetery, formed in 1825; St. George's church, built in 1814, at a cost of £12,000; four churches built between 1829 and 1857; St. Saviour's church, in the Lombardic style, at a cost of £5,400, built in 1866; Emmanuel church, of very costly character, built in 1867; two Scotch Presbyterian chapels, built in 1863 and 1866; several English dissenting chapels; and a Roman Catholic church, designated St. Edward's college church, built in 1859 to the extent of three eastern chapels, measuring internally 280 feet in length, possessing fine features of the mediaeval style of architecture, and designed as part of an intended cathedral. Acres of the township, 700. Real property, £162,758; of which £742 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 25,883; in 1861, 54,848. Houses, 9,288. The chapelries are St. George, St. Augustine, St. Chrysostom, St. Peter, Christchurch, St. Saviour, and Emmanuel. The living of St. Chrysostom is a vicarage, and the other livings are p. curacies, in the diocese of Chester. Value of St. George and St. Augustine, each £300; of St. Chrysostom, £400; of the others, not reported. Patron of Christchurch, T. B. Horsfall, Esq.; of Emmanuel, I - D. Anderson, Esq.; of St. Peter, not reported; of the others, Trustees. The sub-district includes also the township of Kirkdale. Acres, 1,832. Pop., 70,983. Houses, 11,830.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
- Long Lane, Cemetery
- Necropolis, West Derby Rd/Everton Rd, Cemetery
- St George, Heyworth St, Church of England
- Long Lane, Jewish Cemetery
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Everton.Church History
Church Records
- Richmond, Breck Rd, Baptist
- Thirlmere Rd, Church of Christ
- All Saints, Great Nelson St, Church of England
- Christ Church, Great Homer St, Church of England
- Emmanuel, West Derby Rd, Church of England
- St Ambrose, Prince Edwin St, Church of England
- St Augustine, Shaw St, Church of England
- St Benedict, Kepler St, Church of England
- St Chrysostom, Aubrey Street, Church of England
- St Cuthbert, Robson St, Church of England
- St George, Heyworth St, Church of England
- St John Chrysostom, Queen's Rd, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Richmond Terrace, Church of England
- St Peter, Sackville Street, Church of England
- St Polycarp, Netherfield Road North, Church of England
- St Saviour, Breckfield Road North, Church of England
- St Timothy, Rokeby Street, Church of England
- St Chad, Walton Breck Road, Church of England, Everton Valley
- Hill O'Zion, Cochrane St, Independent Methodist
- St Domingo, Breckfield Rd North, Methodist New Connexion
- Everton Valley, Presbyterian, Liverpool
- Northumberland Terrace, Primitive Methodist
- Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception, St Domingo Road, Roman Catholic
- St Edward, St Domingo Road, Roman Catholic
- Hamilton Rd, United Methodist Free Church
- Ormond St, Village St, Welsh Baptist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Everton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Everton area is LiverpoolDescription and Travel
You can see pictures of Everton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Everton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Everton was a township in the parish of Walton on the Hill.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Everton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ356923 (Lat/Lon: 53.423537, -2.970600), Everton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Everton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

