Farington

Select map to view larger area
FARRINGTON, a township and a chapelry in Penwortham parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the river Lostock, and on the Preston and Wigan railway, 4 miles S of Preston; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Preston. Acres, 1,786. Real property, 7,174. Pop., 1,791. Houses, 311. The property is divided among a few. Farrington House and Farrington Lodge are chief residences. Part of the land is marshy. Many of the inhabitants are employed in cotton mills. The chapelry is more extensive than the township; and was constituted in 1843. Pop., 2,292. Houses, 407. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 120. Patron, the Incumbent of Penwortham. The church is modern. There is a free school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Leyland library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Farington.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Farington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Farington area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Farington which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Farington to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Farington was a township in the parish of Penwortham.

Maps

View maps of Farington and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD548238 (Lat/Lon: 53.708653, -2.686263), Farington which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Farington was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.