Farnworth
|
|
|
|
FARNWORTH, a town, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district in Deane parish and Bolton district, Lancashire. The town stands near the Bolton and Manchester railway, 3 miles SE of Bolton; has a post office under Bolton, and a railway station with telegraph, jointly with Halshaw-Moor, on the railway; publishes a weekly newspaper; is a seat of cotton manufacture, and of the iron trade; is also the place where the late Mr. T. B. Crompton, for some time, carried on one of the largest paper-works in the kingdom; and is regarded, in statistics, as co-extensive with township. Acres of the township, 1, 450. Real property, £26,684; of which £3,249 are in mines, £40 in quarries, and £839 in gas-works. Pop. in 1851, 6,389; in 1861, 8,720. Houses, 1,720. The property is much subdivided. The increase of pop. arose from the erection of cotton mills and the establishment of foundries. A public park for Bolton is situated at Farnworth; was presented by T. Barnes, Esq., M. P. for Bolton; was inagurated, in 1864, by Mr. Gladstone; and is estimated to be worth nearly £13,000. The chapelry includes also the township of Kersley; and was constituted in 1828. Pop., 13,723. Houses, 2,714. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £300.* Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church is modern, in the pointed style, and cost £8,000. A tract, with a pop. of 4,000, was formed, in 1866, into the separate charge of New Bury. There are two Church schools, used as chapels of ease; an Independent chapel, built in 1863, at a cost of £2,500; a Wesleyan chapel, built in 1862, at a cost of £4,000; P. Methodist, Swedenborgian, and Roman Catholic chapels; and a national school. The sub-district is conterminate with the chapelry.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Cemeteries
- Cemetery Road, Cemetery
- St John the Evangelist, Church Street, Church of England
- St James, St. James Street, Church of England, New Bury
- Albert Rd, Congregational
- Trinity Church, Market St, Congregational
- Chapel St, Independent, Halshaw Moor
- St Gregory the Great, Church Street, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Farnworth.Church History
Church Records
- Carlton St, Baptist
- Market St, Baptist
- Trafford St, Baptist
- Parkside Gospel Hall, Trafford St, Brethren
- Park St, Catholic Apostolic
- St George, Daisy Avenue, Farnworth, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Church Street, Church of England
- St Peter, Bradford St, Church of England
- St Thomas, Dixon Green, Church of England
- All Saints, Devon St, Church of England, Moses Gate
- St Catherine, Highfield Road, Church of England, New Bury
- St James, St. James Street, Church of England, New Bury
- Holy Trinity, Church Rd, Church of England, Prestolee
- Harrowby Street, Congregational, Dixon Green
- Albert Rd, Congregational
- Francis St, Congregational
- Trinity Church, Market St, Congregational
- St Thomas Centre, Dixon Green, Farnworth Christian Fellowship
- Ellesmere Street, Independant Methodist
- Chapel St, Independent, Halshaw Moor
- Cawdor St / Robert St, Methodist
- Loxham Street, Primitive Methodist
- Queen Street, Primitive Methodist
- Our Lady of Lourdes, Plodder Lane, Roman Catholic
- St Gregory the Great, Church Street, Roman Catholic
- King Street, SalvationArmy
- Farnworth Christian Spiritualist Church, Peel St / Darley St, Spiritualist
- Trafford St, Welsh Presbyterian
- Egerton Street / Lorne Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Plodder Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Church St, Wesleyan Methodist, Halshaw Moor
- St. James Street, Wesleyan Methodist, New Bury
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Farnworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Farnworth area is Bolton.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Farnworth which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Farnworth to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Farnworth was a township in the parish of Deane.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
A description of Farnworth in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Farnworth and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD732056 (Lat/Lon: 53.546341, -2.405940), Farnworth which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Farnworth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

