Farnworth

This is the Farnworth near Widnes. See also Farnworth in Deane.

Select map to view larger area
FARNWORTH, a village, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Prescot parish and district, Lancashire. The village stands near the St. Helen's and Runcorn Gap railway, 2¾ miles N by E of Runcorn Gap, and 4¾ SE of Prescot; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Warrington. The chapelry is partly in Warrington district; and was constituted in 1859. Pop. of the Warrington d. part, 1,539; of the whole, 6,447. Houses in the W. d. part, 283; in the whole, 1,191. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Chester. Value, 300.* Patron, the Vicar of Prescot. The church is ancient, and was recently restored. Another church, at Widnes Dock, was built in 1858, and designed with a view to enlargement. There is a free gammar-school. William Smith, the founder of Brasenose college, Oxford, and bishop of Lincoln, was born in this chapelry, at Peel House.-The sub-district comprises the townships of Widnes, Cronton, Ditton, and Bold. Acres, 10,861. Pop., 8,879. Houses, 1,599.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Farnworth.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Farnworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Farnworth area is Halton.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Farnworth which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Farnworth to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Farnworth was a chapelry in the township of Widnes, in the parish of Prescot.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Farnworth and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ515876 (Lat/Lon: 53.382998, -2.730629), Farnworth which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Farnworth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.