Fence

Select map to view larger area
FENCE-IN-PENDLE, a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire; on the E border of the county, 3 miles N of Burnley r. station. It has a post office, of the name of Fence, under Burnley. It was constituted in 1845. Pop., 1,331. Houses, 257. The property is subdivided. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, not reported. *Patron, W. Holden, Esq. The church is good.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Nelson library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Fence.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Fence area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Fence area is Burnley and Pendle.

Description and Travel

Local information provided by Pendle.Net.

You can see pictures of Fence which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Fence to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Fence was a chapelry in the township of Higham with West Close Booth in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Fence and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD829375 (Lat/Lon: 53.833472, -2.261320), Fence which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Fence was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.