Feniscowles

Select map to view larger area
FENISCOWLES, a chapelry in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; near Blackburn. It was constituted in 1842; and its post town is Blackburn. Rated property, 9,833. Pop., 3,501. Houses, 640. The property is divided among a few. Feniscowles House is the seat of Sir William H. Feilding, Bart. The living is a vicarage, united with the p. curacy of Livesey, in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 215. *Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church is good.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Blackburn library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Feniscowles.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Feniscowles area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Feniscowles area is Blackburn.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Feniscowles which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Feniscowles to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Feniscowles was a chapelry in the township of Livesey, in the parish of Blackburn.

Maps

View maps of Feniscowles and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD646254 (Lat/Lon: 53.723792, -2.537984), Feniscowles which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Feniscowles was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.