Fleetwood

Select map to view larger area
FLEETWOOD, a town and a chapelry in Poulton-le-Fylde parish, Lancashire. The town stands on the river Wyre, within 2 miles of the open sea, and 18 NW of Preston. Its site, so late as 1836, was a mere rabbit warren; but was observed by its proprietor, Sir P. H. Fleetwood, to be situated so advantageously for inter-communication between the great marts of England and the seaports of the Isle of Man and the North of Ireland, that he determined to make it a seat of commerce. The town has a post office under Preston, a railway station with telegraph, good hotels, a good market-place, bazaars and fancy shops, a custom-house, gas-works, public bathing establishments, a coast-guard station, a large military school, extensive barracks, a large national school, a mechanics' institute, a literary institution, a church, and Independent, Wesleyan, Primitive Methodist, and Roman Catholic chapels. The literary institution was erected, in 1864, at a cost of about 3,000; and is in the Gothic style. The church is a stone edifice, in the early English style. A weekly market is held on Friday; various kinds of industry, suitable to a port, are carried on; and a weekly newspaper is published. The amount of customs, in 1867 was 3,716. Steam-vessels sail regularly to Belfast and Londonderry. Fleet-wood has been regarded as a good starting point for tourists from the south to the Lake district, by way of Piel pier and Furness. Pop. of the town, in 1861, 3,834. Houses, 546. The chapelry is part of the township of Thornton-with-Fleetwood-on-Wyre; and was constituted in 1841. Acres of the township, 9,730; of which 4,550 are water. Real property, 16,459; of which 200 are in gas-works. Pop. in 1851, 4,134; in 1861, 5,084. Houses, 708. Pop. of the chapelry, 4,258. Houses, 547. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 150. Patron, Sir P. H. Fleetwood.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) more ...

Archives and libraries

Central Library,
North Albert Street,
Fleetwood
FY7 6AJ

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Fleetwood.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Fleetwood area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Fleetwood area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Fleetwood which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Fleetwood to another place.

Historical Geography

Fleetwood was built in the township of Thornton in the parish of Poulton le Fylde.

History

Maps

View maps of Fleetwood and places within its boundaries.

A modern map showing Fleetwood in relation to other places in the Fylde.

A map of Fleetwood around 1890.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD338482 (Lat/Lon: 53.925685, -3.009625), Fleetwood which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Fleetwood was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.