Flixton
|
|
|
|
FLIXTON, a township and a parish in Barton-upon-Irwell district, Lancashire. The township lies in the peninsula between the rivers Irwell and Mersey, 3½ miles SSE of Barton-Moss r. station, and 7 WSW of Manchester; and has a post office under Manchester. Acres, 1,575. Real property, £6,966. Pop., 1,302. Houses, 251. The parish includes also the township of Urmston. Acres, 2,549. Real property, £11,477. Pop., 2,050. Houses, 409. The property is subdivided. Flixton Hall is the seat of the Wright family. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £300.* Patron, the Bishop of Manchester. The church is good; and there were placed in it, in 1859, two memorial windows of Mr Thomas Rogers and of the Wright family. The vicarage of Urmston is a separate charge, constituted in 1868. There are two Wesleyan chapels, and charities £11.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Trafford Local studies library.Cemeteries
- St Michael, Church Road, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Flixton.Church History
Church Records
- St John, Irlam Road, Church of England
- St Michael, Church Road, Church of England
- Primitive Methodist
- St Monica, Woodsend Road South, Roman Catholic
- Irlam Road, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Flixton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Flixton area is Trafford.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Flixton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Flixton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 the parish of Flixton contained the townships of Flixton and Urmston. Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.History
A description of Flixton in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Flixton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ749941 (Lat/Lon: 53.443058, -2.379361), Flixton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Flixton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

