Forton

Select map to view larger area
FORTON, a township in Garstang parish, Lancashire; on the Preston canal and the Preston and Lancaster railway, 4 miles N of Garstang. Acres, 1, 278. Real property, 2,663; of which 55 are in quarries. Pop., 574. Houses, 131. There is an Independent chapel.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Forton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Forton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Forton area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Forton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Forton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Forton was a township in the parish of Cockerham.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Forton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD488513 (Lat/Lon: 53.955247, -2.781743), Forton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Forton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.