Freckleton

Select map to view larger area
FRECKLETON, a township-chapelry in Kirkham parish, Lancashire; near Naze Point, on the estuary of the Ribble, 2½ miles SSE of Kirkham r. station, and 7½ W of Preston. It has a post office under Preston. Acres, 2,659; of which 885 are water. Pop., 879. Houses, 188. A manufacture of sacks and sailcloth, which had been extensively carried on, was recently discontinued. The living is a p. curacy, annexed to the p. curacy of Warton, in the diocese of Manchester. The church was built in 1838. There are Wesleyan and Primitive Methodist chapels, and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Kirkham and St. Annes libraries.

Bibliography

The following books contain useful information about the history of Freckleton and the surrounding area.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Freckleton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Freckleton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Freckleton area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

Local information about the village of Freckleton.

You can see pictures of Freckleton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Freckleton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Freckleton was a township in the parish of Kirkham.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Freckleton and places within its boundaries.

A modern map showing Freckleton in relation to other places in the Fylde.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD429290 (Lat/Lon: 53.754218, -2.867489), Freckleton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Freckleton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.