Fulwood
|
|
|
|
FULWOOD, a township-chapelry in Lancaster parish, Lancashire; on the Lancaster and Preston railway, 1½ mile N of Preston. It has a station on the railway; and its post town is Preston. Acres, 2,077. Real property, £6,218. Pop. in 1851, 1,748; in 1861, 2,313. Houses, 172. This was part of the ancient royal forest of Fulwood, now enclosed; and Preston race-ground was part of it. Extensive barracks are here. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, not reported. Patron, the Vicar of L. The church is recent.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Preston library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Fulwood.Church History
Church Records
- Christ Church, Victoria Road, Church of England
- Garrison Chapel, Watling Street Road, Church of England
- St Cuthbert, Lytham Road, Church of England
- St Martin, Broadway, Church of England
- St Peter, Meadowfield, Church of England
- Lightfoot Lane, Free Methodist
- Longsands Lane, Latter Day Saints
- Watling Street Road, Methodist
- St Anthony of Padua, Cadley Causeway, Roman Catholic, Cadley
- Our Lady and St Edward, Marlborough Drive, Roman Catholic
- St Clare, Sharoe Green Lane North, Roman Catholic
- Symonds Rd, United Reformed
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Fulwood area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Fulwood area is Preston and South RibbleDescription and Travel
You can see pictures of Fulwood which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Fulwood to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Fulwood was a township in the parish of Lancaster.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Fulwood and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD545318 (Lat/Lon: 53.780527, -2.691988), Fulwood which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Fulwood was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

