Garstang

Select map to view larger area
GARSTANG, a small town, a township, a parish, a sub-district, and a district in Lancashire. The town stands on the river Wyre, the Preston and Lancaster canal, and the Preston and Lancaster railway, 11 miles South of Lancaster. It was occupied by the Pretender, for a short time, in 1715. It is irregularly built; possesses one main street; and presents an unattractive appearance. It has a bridge over the Wyre, a town-hall, a corn-exchange, a church, three dissenting chapels, a head post office, and a railway station; is a seat of sessions and a polling-place; was incorporated in 1314, with renewal of charter in 1680; and is governed by a bailiff and seven capital burgesses. Fairs are held on Holy Thursday, 10 July, and 22 Nov.; a good corn trade is carried on; and many of the inhabitants of the town and neighbourhood are employed in corn mills, worsted mills, and cotton factories. The township comprises 500 acres. Real property, 2,684. Pop. in 1851, 839; in 1861, 714. Houses, 158. The decrease of pop. was caused by the migration of operatives and the pulling down of old cottages. The parish contains also the townships of Claughton, Catterall, Kirkland, Nateby, Winmarleigh, Cabus, Barnacre-with-Bonds, Nether Wyresdale, Forton, Holleth, Cleveley, Bilsborrow, and Pilling. Acres, 31,403. Real property, 44,864; of which 55 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 7,465; in 1861, 7,221. Houses, 1,364. The church now in the town was originally a chapel of ease, and is dedicated to St. Thomas. The living of St. Helen is a vicarage, and that of St. Thomas is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value of St. Helen, 400;* of St. Thomas, 150.* Patrons of St. Helen, R. and T. Pedder, Esqs.; of St. Thomas, the Vicar of Garstang. The chapelries of Calder Vale and Pilling are separate benefices. There are dissenting chapels in some of the townships; and there are a Roman Catholic chapel and school, a national school, an endowed school with 6, and other charities with 180.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) more ...

Archives and libraries

Garstang Library,
Windsor Road,
Garstang
PRESTON
PR3 1ED

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Garstang.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Garstang area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Garstang area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Garstang which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Garstang to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Garstang contained the townships of Garstang, Pilling, Winmarleigh, Cabus, Nether Wyresdale, Nateby, Kirkland, Barnacre with Bonds, Catterall, Claughton and Bilsborrow.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

Maps

View maps of Garstang and places within its boundaries.

Maps of Garstang North and South around 1890.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD491454 (Lat/Lon: 53.902253, -2.776187), Garstang which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Garstang workhouse.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Garstang was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.