Golborne
|
|
|
|
GOLBORNE, a parish in Leigh district, Lancashire; on the Wigan and Newton railway, 2 miles NNE of Newton. It has a station on the railway, and a post office under Warrington. It was formerly a township of Winwick parish. Acres, 1,634. Real property, £6,683; of which £1,038 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 1,910; in 1861, 2,776. Houses, 513. The increase of pop. arose from the demand for operatives in cotton factories. The property is subdivided. Golborne Hall is a chief residence. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Chester. Value, £110.* Patron, the Earl of Derby. The church is a modern edifice, in the early English style; and consists of nave, S aisle, and chancel, with porch and tower. There are an Independent chapel, a Roman Catholic chapel, erected in 1863, a Church of England school, and charities £36.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Wigan library.Cemeteries
- St Thomas, Church St, Church of England
- All Saints, High St, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Golborne.Church History
Church Records
- Charles St, Baptist
- St Thomas, Church St, Church of England
- High St, Congregational
- High St, Independent Methodist
- Bridge St, Primitive Methodist
- Edge Green Lane, Primitive Methodist
- Lowton Rd, Primitive Methodist
- All Saints, High St, Roman Catholic
- High St, Welsh Wesleyan Methodist
- Heath St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Golborne area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Golborne area is Wigan and Leigh.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Golborne which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Golborne to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Golborne was a township in the parish of Winwick.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Golborne and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ616977 (Lat/Lon: 53.474612, -2.580028), Golborne which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Golborne was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

