Goodshaw

Select map to view larger area
GOODSHAW, a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire, 2 miles NE of Haslingden r. station. It was constituted in 1850; and its post town is Rawtenstall, under Manchester. Rated property, 12,204. Pop., 4,808. Houses, 902. The property is much subdivided. There are cotton factories, calico printing works, collieries, and quarries. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 150. Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church dates from 1530; was rebuilt in 1829; and has an old stone font. There are chapels for Baptists, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists, a mechanics' institute, and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Rawtenstall library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Goodshaw.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Goodshaw area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Goodshaw area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Goodshaw which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Goodshaw to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Goodshaw was a chapelry in the township of Higher Booths, in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Goodshaw and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD810259 (Lat/Lon: 53.729144, -2.289471), Goodshaw which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Goodshaw was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.