Goosnargh

Select map to view larger area
GOOSNARGH, a township and a chapelry in Kirkham parish, Lancashire. The township is conjoint with Newsham; lies near the Lancaster and Preston railway, 3 miles NE of Barton and Broughton r. station, and 6¾ NNE of Preston; and has a post office, of the name of Goosnargh, under Preston. Acres, 9,290. Real property, 10,275. Pop., 1,307. Houses, 256. The chapelry excludes Newsham, but includes Whittingham and Inglewhite. Rated property, 8,031. Pop., 1,171. The property is much subdivided. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 150.* Patron; Christ Church, Oxford. The church is old but good; and consists of nave, chancel, and aisles, with square tower. There are chapels for Independents and Roman Catholics. Bushell's hospital for decayed gentry, with an edifice resembling a mansion, has 855 from endowment; a grammar school has 65; the Whitechapel schools have 42; and other charities have 111 .

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Preston library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Goosnargh.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Goosnargh area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Goosnargh area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Goosnargh which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Goosnargh to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Goosnargh was a township in the parish of Kirkham. Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Goosnargh and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD559368 (Lat/Lon: 53.825586, -2.671461), Goosnargh which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Goosnargh was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.