Goosnargh
|
|
|
|
GOOSNARGH, a township and a chapelry in Kirkham parish, Lancashire. The township is conjoint with Newsham; lies near the Lancaster and Preston railway, 3 miles NE of Barton and Broughton r. station, and 6¾ NNE of Preston; and has a post office, of the name of Goosnargh, under Preston. Acres, 9,290. Real property, £10,275. Pop., 1,307. Houses, 256. The chapelry excludes Newsham, but includes Whittingham and Inglewhite. Rated property, £8,031. Pop., 1,171. The property is much subdivided. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150.* Patron; Christ Church, Oxford. The church is old but good; and consists of nave, chancel, and aisles, with square tower. There are chapels for Independents and Roman Catholics. Bushell's hospital for decayed gentry, with an edifice resembling a mansion, has £855 from endowment; a grammar school has £65; the Whitechapel schools have £42; and other charities have £111 .John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Preston library.Cemeteries
- St Mary the Virgin, Church Lane, Church of England
- Silk Mill Lane, Independent, Inglewhite
- St Francis, Hill Chapel, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Goosnargh.Church History
Church Records
- St Mary the Virgin, Church Lane, Church of England
- Silk Mill Lane, Independent, Inglewhite
- St Francis, Hill Chapel, Roman Catholic
- Whittingham Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Goosnargh area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

