Gorton

Select map to view larger area
GORTON, a township and a chapelry in Manchester parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Manchester and Sheffield railway, and on the Stockport canal, 3 miles ESE of Manchester; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Manchester. Acres, 1,429. Real property, 23,030; of which 332 are in gas-works. Pop. in 1851, 4,476; in 1861, 9,897. Houses, 1,813. The increase of pop. arose from the establishment of railway works, and the erection of a cotton mill. There are hat manufactories, chemical works, gum-works, a tan-yard, and a stained paper manufactory. A city gaol of Manchester was erected here in 1856; and a zoological garden is maintained in connexion with the Bellevue inn. The railway here passes 20 feet under the canal. There is a reservoir, of upwards of 70 acres, belonging to the Manchester water-works. The chapelry was constituted in 1854, and curtailed in 1865. Pop. in 1861, 7,017; in 1866, 2,490. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 150. Patrons, the Dean and Chapter of Manchester. The church is a brick edifice in the Doric style. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, Wesleyans, and Unitarians, a national school, and an excellent boarding school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Gorton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Gorton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Gorton area is Manchester.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Gorton which are provided by:

Directories

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Gorton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Gorton was a township in the parish of Manchester. Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

A description of Gorton in the 19th century.

Details of the history of Gorton are provided by the Gorton and Openshaw Local history group.

Maps

View maps of Gorton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ885964 (Lat/Lon: 53.464207, -2.174695), Gorton which are provided by:

Occupations

A list of traders in Cross Street in the 1940s.

Crossley Brothers built cars in Gorton.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Gorton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.