Great Crosby
|
|
|
|
CROSBY (Great), a village and a chapelry in Sephton parish, Lancashire. The village stands on the coast, near the river Mersey's mouth, 1¾ mile W of the Liverpool and Southport railway, 6½ miles NNW of Liverpool; is a much-frequented watering place; and has a station on the railway, a post office under Liverpool, and two hotels. The chapelry comprises 5,627 acres; of which 3,510 are water. Real property, £22,495. Pop., 3,794. Houses, 686. The property is much subdivided. Crosby House is the seat of John Myers, Esq. Crosby Point is near the village; Crosby lighthouse, 1¼ mile N of the Point, was erected in 1839, and shows a fixed light, 81 feet high; Crosby floating light is moored at the east elbow of the Burbo bank; and Crosby Channel, between that bank and the Formby, and about 6½ miles long, is the main entrance to. the Mersey. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, £119.* Patron, the Rector of Sephton. The church was built in 1854, is cruciform and handsome, and has a tower with lofty spire. There are an elegant Wesleyan chapel, built in 1863 at a cost of £5,000, a Roman Catholic chapel, an endowed grammar school, an endowed girls' school, and a Roman Catholic convent school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Crosby library.Cemeteries
- St Peter & St Paul, Liverpool Rd, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Great Crosby.Church History
Church Records
- Oxford Rd, Baptist, Waterloo
- United Free, Crosby Rd North, Baptist, Waterloo
- St Michael, Dowhills Rd, Church of England, Blundellsands
- St Nicholas, Bridge Road, Church of England, Blundellsands
- All Saints, Forefield Lane, Church of England
- St Faith, Crosby Rd North, Church of England
- St Michael, Church Rd, Church of England
- Christ Church, Crosby Road South, Church of England, Waterloo
- Old Christ Church, Waterloo Road, Church of England, Waterloo
- St John, St John's Road, Church of England, Waterloo
- St Mary the Virgin, Park Rd, Waterloo Park, Church of England, Waterloo
- Church Rd, Congregational, Waterloo
- Haigh Rd, Latter Day Saints, Waterloo
- Warren Rd, Presbyterian, Blundellsands
- St Andrew, Crosby Road South, Presbyterian, Waterloo
- St Joseph, Serpentine South, Roman Catholic, Blundellsands
- St Helen, Alexandra Rd, Roman Catholic
- St Peter & St Paul, Liverpool Rd, Roman Catholic
- St Edmund, Oxford Road, Roman Catholic, Waterloo
- St Thomas of Canterbury, Great George's Rd, Roman Catholic, Waterloo
- United Free, Crosby Rd North, United Reformed, Waterloo
- Crosby Road South, Welsh Calvinist Methodist, Waterloo
- Mersey Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Blundellsands
- Bath St, Wesleyan Methodist, Waterloo
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Great Crosby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
The registers of the parish church, St Luke, have been published by the Lancashire Parish Register Society as follows.
- Volume 130 - Bap 1749-1837.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Great Crosby area is Sefton South.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Great Crosby which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Great Crosby to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Great Crosby was a township in the parish of Sefton.Maps
View maps of Great Crosby and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ324997 (Lat/Lon: 53.489642, -3.020341), Great Crosby which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Great Crosby was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

