Great Eccleston

Select map to view larger area
ECCLESTON (Great), a township in St. Michael-on-Wyre parish, Lancashire; on the river Wyre, 5½ miles SW of Garstang. It has a post office under Garstang. Acres, 1,412. Real property, 3,637. Pop., 641. Houses, 141. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Roman Catholics. See Copp.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Garstang library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Great Eccleston.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Great Eccleston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Great Eccleston area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Great Eccleston which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Great Eccleston to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Great Eccleston was a township in the parish of St. Michaels.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

Maps

View maps of Great Eccleston and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD428402 (Lat/Lon: 53.854863, -2.871090), Great Eccleston which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Great Eccleston was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.