Great Harwood
|
|
|
|
HARWOOD (GREAT), a town, a township-chapelry, and a sub-district in Blackburn parish and district, Lancashire. The town stands near the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 1½ mile SW of the river Calder, 2¼ SE of Ribchester r. station, and 4½ NE of Blackburn; is a rising place, well built of native stone; nearly doubled its population in the ten years prior to 1865; is governed by a local board of health; and has a post office under Accrington, a news-room, cotton mills, a national school, a church, and chapels for Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Roman Catholics. The church is ancient, and has a west tower. The Roman Catholic chapel is a handsome edifice of 1860. Pop., in 1861, 3,294. Houses, 637. The chapelry comprises 2,510 acres. Real property, £9,521; of which £75 are in gasworks, and £85 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 2,548; in 1861, 4,070. Houses, 782. The manor belongs to James Lomax, Esq. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £200. * Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The sub-district contains also two other townships of Blackburn parish, and one of Whalley. Acres, 6,950. Pop., 10,220. Houses, 1,952.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Accrington library.Cemeteries
- Blackburn Rd, Cemetery
- St Bartholomew (originally St Laurence), Park Lane, Church of England
- Our Lady and St Hubert, St Hubert Street, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Great Harwood.Church History
Church Records
- James Barlow Memorial, Charles St, Baptist
- St Bartholomew (originally St Laurence), Park Lane, Church of England
- St John, St John's St, Church of England
- Queen St, Congregational
- Emmanuel, Segar St, Free Church of England
- Jubilee School, Windsor Rd, Methodist
- Towngate Pentecostal, Town Hall Street, Pentecostal
- Orchard St, Primitive Methodist
- Jubilee chapel, Mercer St, Primitive Methodist
- Our Lady and St Hubert, St Hubert Street, Roman Catholic
- St Wulstan, Rushton Street, Roman Catholic
- Clayton St, Spiritualist
- Mount Zion, Cattle St, United Methodist
- Barnmeadow Lane, United Reformed
- Russell Place, Wesleyan Methodist
- Windsor Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Mount Zion, Commercial St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Great Harwood area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
The Great Harwood site has information about each of the local churches.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Great Harwood area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Great Harwood which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Great Harwood to another place.Genealogy
Great Harwood genealogy links.Historical Geography
In 1835 Great Harwood was a township in the parish of Blackburn.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
A few notes about the history of Great Harwood.Maps
View maps of Great Harwood and places within its boundaries.A map of Great Harwood around 1890.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD736321 (Lat/Lon: 53.784546, -2.402165), Great Harwood which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Military History
Men and women of Accrington and District who gave their lives for their country during the Great War of 1914-1919.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Great Harwood was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

