It was founded in 1912. The parish has been merged with St Wulstan and is now known as Our Lady and St Hubert with St Wulstan
The new mission at St. Wulstan's was opened in 1912 by Fr. Patrick Wren, who had been curate for several years at St. Hubert's.
From 1917 St. Wulstan's was under the care of Fr. Peter Higgins, a priest well-known to many of the diocesan clergy through his having been a Professor at St. Bede's College, and Prefect of Studies. His attractive personality and brilliance of intellect, together with a very real sense of humour, made him a popular figure with many friends. At his death it was felt that the diocese had lost a unique and priceless character, inimitable and irreplacable.
Father Joseph Rees was appointed in 1927 after the death of Fr. Higgins. A new church was opened in 1936.
Taken from "Salford Diocese and its Catholic past", a survey by Charles A. Bolton, a Priest of the above Diocese. Published 1950 on the First Centenary for the Diocese of Salford.
This site provides historical information about churches, other places of worship and cemeteries. It has no connection with the churches themselves. For current information you should contact them directly.