Great Heaton

Select map to view larger area
HEATON (Great), a township in Prestwich parish, Lancashire; on the river Irk, 4 miles N by W of Manchester. It was anciently known as Heaton-Reddish; and it includes the hamlet of Lands-End. Acres, 866. Real property, 2, 508. Pop., 159. Houses, 34. The manor belonged to the Langleys, and passed to the Reddishes, the Cokes, and the Drinkwaterses. Most of the land, with Heaton House, belongs now to the Earl of Wilton. Heaton House is a modern edifice, in the Ionic style; and stands in a well wooded park, about 5 miles in circuit

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Great Heaton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Great Heaton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Great Heaton area is Manchester.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Great Heaton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Great Heaton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Great Heaton was a township in the parish of Prestwich.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

A description of Great Heaton in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Great Heaton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD834043 (Lat/Lon: 53.535079, -2.251935), Great Heaton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Great Heaton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.