Great Lever
|
|
|
|
LEVER (GREAT), a township-chapelry, with a village, in Middleton parish, Lancashire; on the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, near the Bolton and Bury canal, 1½ mile SSE of Bolton r. station. Post town, Bolton. Acres, 770. Real property, £10,174; of which £3,750 are in mines. Pop., 722. Houses, 138. Most of the land belongs to the Earl of Bradford and the Earl of Ellesmere. There are some good residences; and there are chemical-works, bleaching-works, and collieries. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £130. Patron, the Earl of Bradford. The church is in the early and decorated English styles; and consists of nave and chancel, with a bell-turret.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Cemeteries
- St Michael, Manchester Road, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Great Lever.Church History
Church Records
- St Bartholomew, St Bartholomew's Street, Church of England
- St Michael, Manchester Road, Church of England
- St William of York, Lever Edge Lane, Roman Catholic
- Victoria Methodist Chapel, Grecian Crescent, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Great Lever area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Great Lever area is Bolton.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Great Lever which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Great Lever to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Great Lever was a township in the parish of Middleton.History
A description of Great Lever in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Great Lever and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD720074 (Lat/Lon: 53.562457, -2.424211), Great Lever which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Great Lever was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

