Great Marsden
|
|
|
|
MARSDEN, a township and two chapelries in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The township consists of the two chapelries, called Little M. and Great M.; lies on the Leeds and Liverpool canal, and on the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, 2½ and 4 miles NE of Burnley; has two stations on the railway, at Brierfield for Little M., and at Nelson for Great M.; and has a post office, of the name of Nelson-in-Marsden, under Burnley. Acres, of Little M., 1,470; of Great M., 2,890. Real property of the whole, £27,821; of which £1,304 are in quarries, and £11,068 in mines. Pop. of Little M., in 1851, 3,997; in 1861, 5,162. Houses, 1,005. Pop. of Great M., in 1851, 2,071; in 1861, 2,180. Houses, 422. The increase of pop. was caused by the erection of cotton-mills. The property both of Little M. and of Great M. is much subdivided. Marsden Hall is the seat of W. Pinder, Esq.; Southfield, of N. England, Esq.; and Spring House, of T. Mason, Esq. Nelson, in Little M., is lighted with gas, and publishes a weekly newspaper. The cotton manufacture is carried on, and coal and stone abound. Little M. is a p. curacy, Great M. a vicarage, in the dio. of Manchester. Value of Little M., £180;* of Great M., £300.* Patrons of the former, Hulme's Trustees; of the latter, alt. the Crown and the Bishop. The church of Little M. is a plain stone building; and that of Great M. was erected in 1848, at a cost of £2,050, and is in the pointed style. There are chapels for Independents and Quakers, three for Wesleyans, and two for Primitive Methodists, three national schools, and a mechanics' institution.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Nelson Library,Market Square,
Nelson
BB9 7PU
Cemeteries
- Walton Lane, Cemetery, Nelson
- St John the Evangelist, Barkerhouse Rd, Church of England
- St Paul, Halifax Road, Church of England, Little Marsden
- St John, Barkerhouse Rd, Church of England, Nelson
- Providence, Halifax Rd, Congregational, Brierfield
- Halifax Rd/Heyhead St, Primitive Methodist, Brierfield
- Marsden Heights, Society of Friends, Brierfield
- Walverden Rd, Society of Friends, Brierfield
- Newhead burial ground, Halifax, Society of Friends, Brierfield
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Great & Little Marsden.Church History
Church Records
- Burnley Road, Baptist, Brierfield
- Carr Rd, Baptist, Nelson
- Woodlands Rd, Baptist, Nelson
- Zion, Elizabeth St, Baptist, Nelson
- Bradley Hall Road, Christadelphian, Nelson
- Living Hope, Christian Fellowship, Brierfield
- Living Hope, Halifax Rd/Heyhead St, Christian Fellowship, Brierfield
- Eleanor St, Christian Science, Nelson
- St Luke, Burnley Road, Church of England, Brierfield
- St John the Evangelist, Barkerhouse Rd, Church of England
- St Paul, Halifax Road, Church of England, Little Marsden
- St Bede, Railway Street, Church of England, Nelson
- St John, Barkerhouse Rd, Church of England, Nelson
- St Mary, Maurice Street, Church of England, Nelson
- St Phillip, Leeds Road, Church of England, Nelson
- Providence, Colne Rd, Congregational, Brierfield
- Providence, Halifax Rd, Congregational, Brierfield
- Brunswick St, Congregational, Nelson
- Manchester Rd, Congregational, Nelson
- Southfield St, Congregational, Nelson
- Bradley Rd, Elim Pentecostal, Nelson
- Netherfield Road, Independant Methodist, Nelson
- Halifax Rd/Heyhead St, Independent Methodist, Brierfield
- Barkerhouse Rd, Independent Methodist, Nelson
- Bradshaw St, Independent Methodist, Nelson
- Salem, Scotland Rd, Independent Methodist, Nelson
- Russell St, Inghamite, Nelson
- Stanley Street, Pentecostal, Brierfield
- Hebron Hall, Walter Street, Plymouth Brethren, Brierfield
- Burnley Road, Primitive Methodist, Brierfield
- Halifax Rd/Heyhead St, Primitive Methodist, Brierfield
- Southfield St, Primitive Methodist, Nelson
- Thomas St, Primitive Methodist, Nelson
- Bethel, Netherfield Rd, Primitive Methodist, Nelson
- Ebenezer, Bradley Rd, Primitive Methodist, Nelson
- Zion, Scotland Rd, Primitive Methodist, Nelson
- Holy Trinity, Richard Street, Roman Catholic, Brierfield
- Holy Saviour, Bradley Hall Road, Roman Catholic, Nelson
- St John Southworth (formerly St George), Vaughan St, Roman Catholic, Nelson
- St Joseph, Macleod St, Roman Catholic, Nelson
- Bradshaw St, Scotch Baptist, Nelson
- Marsden Heights, Society of Friends, Brierfield
- Walverden Rd, Society of Friends, Brierfield
- Newhead burial ground, Halifax, Society of Friends, Brierfield
- Vernon Street, Spiritualist, Nelson
- Eleanor St, Unitarian, Nelson
- Regent Street, United Methodist, Nelson
- Stanley St, United Methodist Free Church, Nelson
- Colne Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Brierfield
- Bradley Hall, Leeds Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Nelson
- Carr Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Nelson
- Cooper Street, Wesleyan Methodist, Nelson
- Railway St, Wesleyan Methodist, Nelson
- Temple Street, Wesleyan Methodist, Nelson
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Great Marsden area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Great Marsden area is Burnley and Pendle.Description and Travel
Local information about Nelson provided by Pendle.Net.You can see pictures of Great Marsden which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Great Marsden to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Great and Little Marsden was a township in the parish of Whalley.Maps
View maps of Great Marsden and places within its boundaries.A map of Great Marsden around 1890.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD858370 (Lat/Lon: 53.829066, -2.217232), Great Marsden which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Great Marsden was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

