Great Sankey
|
|
|
|
SANKEY (Great), a township and a chapelry in Prescot parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Sankey canal, the Grand Junction railway, and the Warrington and Liverpool railway, 2½ miles W of Warrington; and has a station on the latter railway, and a post-office under Warrington, both of the name of Sankey-Bridges. Acres, 1,909. Real property, £3,842. Pop., 563. Houses, 108. The manor belongs to the Hon. L. Powys. Barrow Hall is the residence of J. A. Wright, Esq. railway viaducts here cross the S. canal; and that of the Grand Junction railway has 9 arches. The chapelry was originally conterminate with the township, but was greatly extended in 1865. Pop., 1,347. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, £120.* Patron, the Hon. L. Powys. The church is an old brick building. There is a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Warrington library.Cemeteries
- St Mary, Liverpool Rd, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Great Sankey.Church History
Church Records
- St Mary, Liverpool Rd, Church of England
- St James, Canons Rd, Great Sankey, Church of England, Westbrook
- St Philip, Old Hall & Callands, Church of England, Westbrook
- Payne Close, Canons Rd, Latter Day Saints
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Great Sankey area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Great Sankey area is Warrington.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Great Sankey which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Great Sankey to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Great Sankey was a township in the parish of Prescot.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Great Sankey and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ576883 (Lat/Lon: 53.389816, -2.639021), Great Sankey which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Great Sankey was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

