Greenhalgh with Thistleton

Select map to view larger area
GREENALGH (or GREENHALGH) WITH THISTLETON, a township in Kirkham parish, Lancashire; gear the Fleetwood railway, 3 miles NW of Kirkham. It includes Esprick hamlet; and has ruins of a castle, said to have been built by the first Earl of Derby, and seeming to have comprised seven or eight towers of much height and strength. Acres, 1,821. Real property, 4,082. Pop., 383. Houses, 75. There is an Independent chapel.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Kirkham library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Greenhalgh.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Greenhalgh area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Greenhalgh area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Greenhalgh which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Greenhalgh with Thistleton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Greenhalgh was a township in the parish of Kirkham.

Maps

View maps of Greenhalgh and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD404360 (Lat/Lon: 53.816847, -2.906756), Greenhalgh which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Greenhalgh was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.