Gressingham

Select map to view larger area
GRESSINGHAM, a township-chapelry in Lancaster parish, Lancashire; on the river Lune, 2 miles NW of Hornby r. station, and 8 NE of Lancaster. It includes Eskrigg hamlet; and its post town is Hornby, under Lancaster. Acres, 1, 934. Real property, 2,244. Pop. in 1851, 187; in 1861, 158. Houses, 34. The decrease of pop. was caused partly by the removal of an academy. The property is subdivided. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 80. * Patron, the Vicar of Lancaster. The church is ancient, of various dates; and was partially rebuilt in 1861.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Gressingham.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Gressingham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Gressingham area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Gressingham which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Gressingham to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Gressingham was a township in the parish of Lancaster.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Gressingham and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD571699 (Lat/Lon: 54.123165, -2.657901), Gressingham which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Gressingham was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.