Grimsargh with Brockholes

Select map to view larger area

GRIMSARGH is a township, 4 miles north-east from Preston, with a station on the Preston and Longridge section of the London and North Western and Lancashire and Yorkshire joint railway, and was formed into a parish 14 May 1875, from the civil parish of Preston, and comprises the townships of Grimsargh-with-Brockholes and Elston, in the Blackpool division of the county, Amounderness petty sessional division and hundred, Preston union and county court district, Preston rural Deanery, Lancaster archdeaconery and diocese of Manchester. Part of the township of Grimsargh, by the Preston improvement act, 1880 (43 & 44 Vic. cap. 118) is included within the extended borough of Preston.

BROCKHOLES is on the north bank of the Ribble, 2.5 miles east from Preston station.

from Kelly's Lancashire Directory, 1895

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Preston library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Grimsargh.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Grimsargh area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Grimsargh area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Grimsargh which are provided by:

Directories

GRIMSARGH, a township and a chapelry in Preston parish, Lancashire. The township is conjoint with Brockholes; lies on the Preston and Longridge railway, n ear the river Ribble, 4 miles NE of Preston; and has a station on the railway. Post town, Preston. Acres, 1,945. Real property, 3,258. Pop., 301. house, 55. Pop. of G., exclusive of B., 247. house, 45. The property is divided among a few. The manor belongs to W. A. Cross, Esq. The chapelry is more extensive than the township. Pop., 354. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 77.* Patron, the Vicar of Preston. The church was recently restored and enlarged; consists of nave, chancel, and aisle, with a porch; and has a brass of the Cross family.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Grimsargh with Brockholes to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Grimsargh and Brockholes was a township in the parish of Preston.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Grimsargh and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD586342 (Lat/Lon: 53.802440, -2.630094), Grimsargh which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Grimsargh was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.