Habergham Eaves

Select map to view larger area
HABERGHAM EAVES, a township and a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The township is suburban to Burnley; includes a town continuous with Burnley; lies partly within Burnley borough; and shares in that town's communications and employments. Acres, 4,007. Real property, 55,673; of which 7,668 are in mines, and 206 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 12,549; in 1861, 18,013. Houses, 3,369. Pop. of the part within Burnley borough, in 1861, 11,469. Houses, 2,094. The increase of pop. arose from the erection of cotton mills. Coal is largely worked. The manor belongs to the Duke of Buccleuch; and other chief properties belong to four landowners. The chapelry is less extensive than the township; and was constituted in 1842. Pop. in 1861, 11,533. Houses, 2,195. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 350.* Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church stands in Trinity street; is in the Tudor style; and consists of nave, aisles, and chancel, with a tower. There are several dissenting chapels, national schools, and charities 37.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Burnley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Habergham Eaves.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Habergham Eaves area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Habergham Eaves area is Burnley and Pendle.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Habergham Eaves which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Habergham Eaves to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Habergham Eaves was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Habergham and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD838319 (Lat/Lon: 53.783168, -2.247348), Habergham Eaves which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Habergham Eaves was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.