Hide
Habergham Eaves
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
HABERGHAM EAVES, a township and a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The township is suburban to Burnley; includes a town continuous with Burnley; lies partly within Burnley borough; and shares in that town's communications and employments. Acres, 4,007. Real property, £55,673; of which £7,668 are in mines, and £206 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 12,549; in 1861, 18,013. Houses, 3,369. Pop. of the part within Burnley borough, in 1861, 11,469. Houses, 2,094. The increase of pop. arose from the erection of cotton mills. Coal is largely worked. The manor belongs to the Duke of Buccleuch; and other chief properties belong to four landowners. The chapelry is less extensive than the township; and was constituted in 1842. Pop. in 1861, 11,533. Houses, 2,195. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £350.* Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church stands in Trinity street; is in the Tudor style; and consists of nave, aisles, and chancel, with a tower. There are several dissenting chapels, national schools, and charities £37.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Local studies information is held at Burnley library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Habergham Eaves.
The Register Office covering the Habergham Eaves area is Burnley and Pendle.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"HABERGHAM-EAVES, a township in the parish of Whalley, higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, county Lancaster, 2 miles S.W. of Burnley. It is situated near the Leeds and Liverpool canal. The greater part of the population are employed in the manufacture of cotton and wool, and in working the collieries. Slate and stone are also quarried. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £300. The church is dedicated to St. Paul. There is another church dedicated to All Saints, also a perpetual curacy, value £150, in the patronage of the crown and bishop alternately. The charities produce £37 per annum."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Habergham Eaves to another place.
In 1835 Habergham Eaves was a township in the parish of Whalley.
Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD831310 (Lat/Lon: 53.775128, -2.258254), Habergham Eaves which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Habergham Eaves was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.