Haigh
|
|
|
|
Haigh.-- township and vil., in par. and 2½ miles NE. of Wigan, SW. Lancashire, 2135 ac., pop. 1186; P.O., T.O.John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Wigan library.Cemeteries
- St David, Haigh Rd, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Haigh.Church History
Church Records
- St David, Haigh Rd, Church of England
- Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception, Haigh Rd, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Haigh area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Haigh area is Wigan and Leigh.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Haigh which are provided by:Directories
"HAIGH is a township two miles north of Wigan, in that parish, and is one of the most interesting townships therein. Great quantities of cannel coal (mentioned above) is found here, and at Haigh-hall, the beautiful seat of the Earl of Balcarres & Baron Wigan, a summer house is made of it, said to have stood more than a hundred years, and in which ladies may seat themselves without danger to the purity of their most delicate vestures. Various toys are made from cannel, and when formed into boxes, plates, &c. it is susceptible of a polish as fine as black marble. This township contained, by the its census, 1,300 inhabitants."Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of the county of Lancashire - Pigot & Co. 1828
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Haigh to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Haigh was a township in the parish of Wigan.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Haigh and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD606089 (Lat/Lon: 53.575204, -2.596506), Haigh which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Haigh was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

