Haighton

Select map to view larger area
HAIGHTON, a township in Preston parish, Lancashire; on the river Wyre, 4 miles NNE of Preston. It includes the hamlet of Cow Hill. Acres, 1,054. Real property, 1,554. Pop., 222. Houses, 40.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Preston library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Haighton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Haighton Green area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Haighton area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Haighton Green which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Haighton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Haighton was a township in the parish of Preston. Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Haighton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD565347 (Lat/Lon: 53.806763, -2.662049), Haighton Green which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Haighton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.