Hale

Select map to view larger area
HALE, a village, a township, a chapelry, and a subdistrict in Childwall parish and Prescot district, Lancashire. The village stands on the coast of the Mersey, 2 miles S W of Halewood r. station, and 10 SE by E of Liverpool; is a picturesque and pleasant place, much frequented by pleasure parties from Liverpool; and has a post office under Warrington. The township comprises 1,626 acres of land and 2,165 of water. Real property, 3,847. Pop., 648. Houses, 122. The manor belonged, in the time of William the Conqueror, to John de Ireland; and has descended from him to its present proprietor John Ireland Blackburne, Esq. Hale Hall, Mr. B. 's seat, was built, in 1674, by Sir Gilbert Ireland; has a recently erected front; and commands a fine view of the Mersey. A decoy pool, for catching wild fowl, is about ¼ of a mile from the village. The chapelry is more extensive than the township, and is of very ancient date. Pop., 1,062. Houses, 202. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, 105. * Patron, J. I. Blackburne, Esq. The church is a plain building, with aisles, porch, and tower. Charities, 15. John Middleton, known as "the child of Hale," who was 9 feet 3 inches high, was born here in 1578, and died and was buried here in 1623. The sub-district contains the townships of Hale, Speke, and Halewood. Acres, 13,042. Pop., 2,424. Houses, 430.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Hale.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hale area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

The registers of the parish church, St Mary, have been published by the Lancashire Parish Register Society as follows.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Hale area is Halton.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Hale which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Hale to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Hale was a township in the parish of Childwall.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Hale and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ469822 (Lat/Lon: 53.334020, -2.798871), Hale which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Hale was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.