Halewood

Select map to view larger area
HALEWOOD, a township in Childwall parish, and a chapelry partly also in Huyton parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Garston and Warrington railway, near the river Mersey, 5½ miles E of Garston; includes the hamlet of Hale Bank; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Liverpool. Acres, 3, 759. Real property, 7,250. Pop. in 1851, 1,146; in 1861, 1,205. Houses, 219. The manor belongs to the Earl of Derby. The chapelry includes only part of the township, and was constituted in 1844. Pop. in 1861, 1,184. Houses, 214. Pop. of the part in H. township, 835. Houses, 149. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Chester. Value, 300.* Patron, the Vicar of Childwall. The church was built in 1839, and enlarged in 1847; and is in the early English style. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Knowsley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Halewood.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Halewood area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Halewood area is Knowsley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Halewood which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Halewood to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Halewood was a township in the parish of Childwall.

History

Some information about the history of Halewood.

Maps

View maps of Halewood and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ448857 (Lat/Lon: 53.365263, -2.831014), Halewood which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Halewood was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.